XJ40 ( XJ81 ) 1986 - 1994

-91 XJ40 dash lights completely gone

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2014, 09:00 AM
Kay
Received 22 Likes on 14 Posts
Default -91 XJ40 dash lights completely gone

One of my Kitten's quirks, after winter storaging the dashlights are completely gone, only radio and clock have lights.

I have checked the fuses (none blown and I think I found even the one that is for the dash lights) and few bulbs, those are all ok.

Any ideas? easy fixes? I am not an expert on car electrics but it would be fun to see speedometer etc in the dark too.

Kay

Old 04-05-2014, 11:45 AM
Received 248 Likes on 170 Posts

Key,

Are you certain that the display dimmer switch wasn't accidently moved and set at it's lowest setteing: (Item 4&5) It's located below the lighting switch for the exterior lights, on the steering column.

Seems odd you would lose all lights except the radio/clock at once.

Just to be clear, you're stating that all other instrument lights have gone out, such as the instrument cluster(speed, tach., fuel, oil) and the lights on the AC control unit, exterior light switch illumination are out and the gear shift indicator lights are out.....am I understanding you correctly?

Attached Thumbnails -91 XJ40 dash lights completely gone-mn4984.jpg  
The following 2 users liked this post by Rob Evenson:
93SB (05-23-2014), Kay (04-07-2014)
Old 04-05-2014, 01:40 PM
Kay

Thanks Rob,
that was my first thing to check (the dimmer switch ), I think the gear lever light works but no instruments or ac etc.

Old 04-05-2014, 08:27 PM
Received 40 Likes on 30 Posts

I have exactly the same problem on my recent purchase

Old 04-05-2014, 09:29 PM
Received 50 Likes on 41 Posts

I would be pulling the dash cluster out and checking globes....
I know it is a long stretch to think they could all be blown, but when I got my baby... that's exactly the reason for no instrument lights....