XJ40 ( XJ81 ) 1986 - 1994

I needed a LOT of parts, but then.......

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2010, 08:40 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default I needed a LOT of parts, but then.......

Ok, so I just recently bought a 1988 Jaguar XJ6 with the 3.6 engine. My first Jag and I'm a definite newbie. Meant to be a project car and the car needed a lot of little things to make it right. I talked the guy down to $1200 from $2000 and it seemed like a good deal and it does run and shift well and exterior is pretty good. But then the more I've owned it, the longer the list of items that I need to get has grown. And I've found that these little items aren't so cheap no matter how much internet searching I've been doing. Here is a list of just SOME of the things that I've come to find out that I want and or need.

1. Hood Support Struts ($40-pair)
2. Replacement Jaguar Radio - Mine works but has issues ($150 avg)
3. Leaper Hood Emblem ($79+s/h avg)
4. Hood Insulation Pad - mine is all ripped up and shredded ($178 used on a jag site)
5. 4 Center Caps with jaguar emblems ($35 each X4 plus s/h X4)
6. Spare Tire ($?)
7. Instrument Cluster with Digital Gauges - mine has issues ($199 for good one)
8. Air Filter Box ($?)
9. High Pressure Power Steering Hose ($?)
10. Two Tail lights ($85 x 2)
11. Rear Fog Light Lense ($65)
12. Side Reflector Light ($35)
13. Wiper Motor ($?)
14. Brake Calipers - found out while replacing pads yesterday ($$$$$$?)
15. Two Rear Door Handle Assemblies ($$$$$?)
16. Trunk Carpet ($?)
Much more................