XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1985 XJ12 won't start!

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2018, 02:23 PM
Received 20 Likes on 18 Posts
Default 1985 XJ12 won't start!

I’ve been driving my xj12 occasionally for a year now and never had a problem with starting the engine even in winter conditions. I’m fairly new to the v12 and all its features, so I’d really like to hear an advice where to start looking to fix the issue I’m experiencing.

I recently washed the car, which I would be scared to do again
After a good clean it started without any problems, then drove it for a while and everything was just fine. I parked the car, returned after few minutes and the engine wouldn’t start. It cranked, but didn’t start. I managed to get it running once after a long struggle and it ran fine just as usual, but it was only once.

I opened the fuel filler cap and noticed there was some water above the little flap. I figured that more might have got to the tanks and fuel lines, so I drained both tanks, unplugged the feed line to the fuel rail and using a compressor blew the rest of fuel from the system. Indeed there was some water in the tanks, not too much though.
I then put fresh gas, changed the fuel pump, as I was having a new one anyway, but it didn’t help. Today I managed to start it once more (without air filters) and again it ran without any issues, but tried once more and again no response.

I am not sure whether water in fuel system was the reason of this behavior or just a coincidence.

Simple checks: I’ve got spark, battery fully charged, fresh fuel, it runs to the fuel rail.
However, I pulled one spark plug, and it wasn’t wet, which I believe it should be after cranking for a long time.
Could this be the injectors that were somehow broken by the water?

One more thing, I suspected air in the system so I checked the air bleed valve. Is it normal that when I took off the upper hose fuel poured out of it?