Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

82 vanden plas valve gasket replacement

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2013, 11:21 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 82 vanden plas valve gasket replacement

Hey guys
I'm about to replace the leaking valve gasket in my car. I'm assuming it is pretty straightforward but I'm thinking it would be best to ask here first before I go at it as I've never done it before. Any tips, brands or materials that would be useful or work best? I'm going to replace both of them while I'm at it. Going to buy the parts tomorrow and do the work this weekend. Thanks for any help
Cheers

Old 08-06-2013, 03:04 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,430 Likes on 1,940 Posts

May I assume you are replacing one or both of the cam cover gaskets ? If you are, then it would be helpful to also replace the copper washers under the securing nuts, (chrome-plated dome nuts). If you can't get any, you can anneal the old ones by heating each one to cherry red heat, then dropping in a bucket of water. They should then squash up OK without too much torque. Copper annealing is the complete opposite of steel, BTW.

Question I have is - is it the gasket leaking ? Reason I ask is there are two half-moon rubber fillers at the back of the cam boxes, to fill the gap left when the camshaft bearing seatings were line-bored on the head. If these have hardened-up, they could be leaking. You might also care to take out and clean the oil trap capsule in the breather assembly at the front of the head. It's inside the dome-capped rubber "thingy" secured by a Jubilee clip. A pipe runs from it to the inlet manifold.

This job is one of the easiest on the engine. There are plenty of hard ones, of course !

Last edited by Fraser Mitchell; 08-06-2013 at 03:06 PM.
Old 08-06-2013, 07:19 PM

Originally Posted by Fraser Mitchell