XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

88 XJ6 Serious Oil Leak at Shutdown

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2012, 03:39 PM
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default 88 XJ6 Serious Oil Leak at Shutdown

I am a newbie here, and a newbie to solving Jag problems as well. My wife's faithful 88 suddenly pours out (not just drips) oil after engine shutdown. The source is not visible, but appears to originate on the passenger side, hidden from view by what appears to be one of the mufflers. It does not leak, or does so minimally while the engine is running. It appears I would need to remove the heat shield (pretty chrome thingy) to see down behind that muffler to maybe see the source. Does anyone have any experience or clues from this sketchy information?

Old 04-29-2012, 08:10 PM
Received 10,292 Likes on 6,811 Posts

Morning, well here it is anyway. You are NEW, you said that, ha, so WELCOME TO OUR SIDE.

Your '88 is commonly known as an XJ40, confused, so were we at first.

NO harm, some friendly Moderator MAY shift this to the correct area to maximise responses, IF that does not happen, simply repost it in there.

There is not much on the RH side of the AJ6 engine that is oil related.

The camcover gasket is suspect, as are the 2 "D" seals at the rear of cover. Particularly since you are stating it appears to be coming from under the exhaust manifold area??. HOWEVER having said all that, they usually leak more when running, but anything is possible I suppose.

A new camcover gasket, 2 "D" seals, and 6 spark plug tube seals will do NO harm, and just may fix the gremlin.

ENJOY

Old 04-29-2012, 10:49 PM

Thank you,