XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Automatics - how should they perform?

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2012, 05:19 AM
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Automatics - how should they perform?

Hi All,

I am new to both Jaguar and automatic car ownership and had a couple of questions. My 1976 series 2 has the Borg Warner 65 or 66 automatic, it shifts fairly smoothly and at the speeds the manual says it should so I assume it is mostly good. A few things worry me though as I do not fully understand autos:

I have noticed the car can read different revvs at the one speed ie: at 80kph on level ground it is around 1900rpm, but if I pull uphill at 80kph still in top gear the revvs will slowly rise to around 2500rpm. Is this sort of slip a normal part of torque convertor design or it is a sign of wear?

My other issue I have mentioned before - once the car is up to running temperature if I accelerate at all hard from takeoff there is a noisy slip/bind - it is definitely a friction noise and momentum is minimal until I back off and the noise goes away. Only seems to happen at rolling speeds, so I assume first gear. I have been told it could be worn gearbox mounts which I will take a look at tomorrow, I also intend to change the transmission fluid as while it is nice and clean it appears it has been a few years since it was last done. Reading the workshop manual makes me think it could also be a worn cone clutch?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, I have only ever owned manual cars so this is all very new to me.

Old 11-30-2012, 05:28 AM
Veteran Member
Received 2,429 Likes on 1,828 Posts

my opinion is: if the transmission is working fine, and the transmission fluid is nice and clean, leave it alone! Just keep it topped up; Check the transmission fluid level when the engine has reached normal working temperature, i.e.: after driving it for some 45 minutes or more.

Old 11-30-2012, 03:11 PM