Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Can’t get rebuilt engine to run properly - totally stumped

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2024, 12:01 AM
Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts
Unhappy Can’t get rebuilt engine to run properly - totally stumped

Hello all,

I have been working for several weeks now trying to get a freshly rebuilt 4.2 in my 1986 XJ6 to run. I went through several iterations of troubleshooting, and finally discovered a couple of weeks ago that I had the ignition timing off 180 degrees. Still not sure how it happened - I’m very meticulous and followed all the instructions, although I’ll admit I’m not an expert at these jobs by any means.

Up until the point I discovered the timing error I couldn’t even get it to sputter. Upon fixing the timing it would sputter a bit but wouldn’t run. After some visual fine-tuning of the ignition timing I indeed finally got it to run, but it’s running very poorly, basically on two cylinders, #1 and #6! Honestly I’m surprised it runs at all. But I’ve tried to diagnose the hell out of this thing and now I’m pretty stuck - I can’t find any other problems. Here’s all that I’ve tried and verified while attempting to diagnose:

Fuel system:
- Fuel pressure is consistent (about 32 lbs) as I have a gauge installed and can monitor. When fuel pump shuts off pressure holds.
- I removed and re-cleaned all the injectors and confirmed spray pattern is good.
- Confirmed injectors are spraying after re-install by using a test tool - fuel pressure drops as I cause each one to pulse manually.
- Confirmed injectors are receiving electrical pulses by using a noid light to check at each connector. This is how I found that cylinders 1 and 6 are the main working ones because there was no evident effect on how the engine was running when disconnecting the injectors on any of the others.
- Fuel is fresh and fuel tanks are new (the old ones were awful)

Ignition system:
- Replaced all wires and plugs. Double checked gaps and they are to spec.
- Replaced coil