XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Urgent Pre-buying advice needed!!

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2015, 11:28 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Urgent Pre-buying advice needed!!

Hi there

I'm a newbie here in London -about to push the button on a 1977 Daimler Double Six coupe.
I'll do the formal introduction of course soon (if I go ahead!!) but one issue on the car is worrying me...can anyone help with advice on a possible fix for a worrying crack where the A pillar meets the front wing...
I'm planning a "visual" restoration and don't have many metalwork skills so I'm concerned about this problem - pic attached - and whether it means expensive welding repairs or whether it is a simpler fix...

I need to say yeh or neh to the car this weekend so any help or advice would be most welcome
Thanks and apologies for the urgency but I'm very keen on this car and this is really the only issue that has be worried
Alex

Old 10-23-2015, 11:52 AM
Received 192 Likes on 169 Posts

I would plan on welding that at some stage and price accordingly.

Might have been accident damage, poor rust repair or even worse a cut and shut. Normally the front scuttle rusts or the frame but I've never seen a clean break like that.

At the right price a V12 coupe is a rare car.

Old 10-23-2015, 12:00 PM

Thanks - it desperately needs a new interior and possibly a full respray. I'm buying it as an investment (although I truly love and admire this model ever since I was a kid and my uncle had one (a 4.2 not a v12- what do you think I should be paying roughly?? Or is that a bit of a silly question!?!? Do you think it's a desirable classic if it's in great (but not concours of course) condition??

Old 10-23-2015, 07:05 PM
Veteran Member
Received 10,746 Likes on 7,099 Posts

Originally Posted by Alexbartman
Thanks - it desperately needs a new interior and possibly a full respray.