XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

1988 XJS C Brake issues

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2012, 08:50 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1988 XJS C Brake issues

I just bought a 1988 XJS with 73,000 miles that the brake light is on constantly. When I was driving it the 120 miles home the brakes were working fine at first but after about 20 miles when I pushed the pedal down it went all the way to the floor. The car did stop. After a few more miles the brakes returned to normal then about 30 minutes later the problem came back. It did this on and off all the way home.
Does anyone know what could be causing this problem?
Could it just be in need of having the lines bleed? Is this something I can do myself. I am not a mechanic but I have worked on several cars in the past. Can someone recommend a good manual for this car because it didn’t come with any?
Thank You

Old 04-18-2012, 09:00 AM
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Not going to try and diagnose your brake problem because I'm no great mechanic either. The factory manual (plus parts list) is available on CD from Jaguar Heritage and I think Coventry west and a few other places. Not terribly expensive either. The hard copy is available on the web from places like Faxon but is about 100 bucks.

Oh, and welcome to the site.

The following users liked this post:
Terrymadtown (04-19-2012)
Old 04-18-2012, 09:09 AM
Received 12 Likes on 9 Posts

I had similar problems with my XJS, if you look at the brake fluid, there is a screen cover in the reservoir, pull that out and mine was filled with congealing fluid. Looked a lot like clear jelly. Also, my Brake light was on constantly too, never found the cause of that myself haha. Just be warned, if/when you have to change your rear brakes, they are one hell of a process. Especially when you compare them to changing brakes on any other car.

Old 04-18-2012, 09:29 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post