XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

1996 xjs front sub frame

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2014, 05:27 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 1996 xjs front sub frame

Hi Im new at this and am not sure how to ask a question,
but her it is. I have a crack in the area around the left hand side upper control arm mount a part of the front sub frame itself.I was able to get the front sub frame out of a 1995 xjs which is in good condition,will this bolt right into my 1996 xjs. thanks kenr

Old 09-24-2014, 01:58 AM
Veteran Member
Received 9,078 Likes on 5,346 Posts

Yes it will, no bother.
greg

Old 09-24-2014, 06:07 PM

Kenr says thank you this helps.

Old 09-25-2014, 08:29 PM
Default 1996 xjs cracked front subframe

Hi all: I am in the process of taking out my old front subframe and replacing it with another unit from a 1995 xjs, does anyone have any hints or suggestions for doing this job? I am working alone with just floor jacks and no lift. thanks kenr.

Old 09-26-2014, 01:47 AM
Veteran Member
Received 9,078 Likes on 5,346 Posts

Originally Posted by kenr
Hi all: I am in the process of taking out my old front subframe and replacing it with another unit from a 1995 xjs, does anyone have any hints or suggestions for doing this job? I am working alone with just floor jacks and no lift. thanks kenr.
Ken
Work slowly and methodically. You CANNOT do this without the necessary tools and axle stands. Also, I am assuming the new subframe is ready to go with all the suspension and brakes etc on it. If not, post again about how to remove these things. With no lift you need, IMO, at least the following:
  • Two big strong axle stands
  • A big floor jack, one that that will lift the car 3 feet off the ground
  • A beam with chains on threaded rods that goes across the engine bay and stands in the wing gutters, this will be to hold the engine up when you undo the subframe (eg Sealey)
  • A/F and metric spanners and sockets
Basically this is what you do: