XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Early XJS non-start injector issues

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2017, 12:47 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Early XJS non-start injector issues

Good evening all.

I’m new to the forum having volunteered to help a friend get his ‘76 V12 XJS running that has been sat idle for while. I’ve never worked on a Jag before but I’m fairly handy with a spanner, fancied an oily challenge and have been given access to an XJS Haynes manual – dangerous stuff indeed!

So the story is thus…. the motor cranks fine, fires up for a second or so, then attempts to run but is too lumpy to sustain itself. The fuel pressure checks good. The initial second or so run seems to be enabled by the hot start injectors (one in each manifold that are not connected to the ECU). A hard suck on the manifold pressure sensor, albeit rather unpleasant, indicated the diaphragm is still good as no air was being drawn in.

Manually operating the throttle with the ignition on (but not cranking) shows that six of the injectors are squirting but the other six are not – so we appear to have identified the (a) symptom of the non-starting, though not yet the cause.

Digging into the manual, the wiring diagram of the D-Jetronic ignition indicates that post the ignition amplifier, the injectors are arranged into four separate groups of three and all three injectors in a group are connected in parallel. Pre-amplification, the four groups are connected into pairs – ie one group of six injectors fires simultaneously and then the second. A little on the crude side IMO but this is one of the earlier FI systems yet it’s still good for 150mph!