XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

gasoline in oil???

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2019, 03:57 PM
Received 178 Likes on 128 Posts
Default gasoline in oil???

Just gave the cat an oil change today. No difficulties, no surprises, until I went to the auto parts store to dispose of the used oil. I'd poured the old oil into the same container that the new oil came in.

So the guy opens the container, puts his nose to it, and says "has this oil been mixed with gasoline?". I said no, I had bought the new oil there, it hadn't been opened until the oil change today, and fuel had no part in the process.

He didn't argue about it...took the oil and dumped it into their bulk oil container. Before doing so, I put my nose to it also. I *may* have detected the scent of gasoline, but that could have been as much my imagination as anything.

I'm no mechanic, but I would think that oil and gasoline mixing itself in the engine is very bad news for me.

Thoughts?

John
1987 XJ-S V12
70,000 miles

Old 01-10-2019, 04:28 PM
Veteran Member
Received 814 Likes on 515 Posts

Off the top of my head, my first guess would be a leaking fuel injector, stuck injector, or partially clogged injectors that don't properly atomize the fuel. Also excess fuel pressure or overly rich running.

In liquid form, the fuel runs down the cylinder walls and seeps past the rings.

Old 01-10-2019, 06:08 PM
Veteran Member
Received 3,751 Likes on 2,599 Posts

Hi J_C_R

I've just been reading up on this and it seems that 'Mac' could be right about an Injector being Stuck Open, so possibly a good idea to take out all the Injectors and have them Cleaned and Matched or else get some Service Exchange Re-Cons

A bit of a PIA I know but cheaper than having to get another engine from somewhere

Interesting to hear what 'Greg' and 'Grant' think

Old 01-10-2019, 06:23 PM
Received 10,312 Likes on 6,822 Posts

It happens.

Injector loom failing can cause it, as the Injectors get confused and stay on longer than desired.