XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Newbie here. Wondering about breather/diapraghm under throttle in back.

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2013, 06:25 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie here. Wondering about breather/diapraghm under throttle in back.

I recently acquired a MINT condition 1990 XJS V12 in Jaguar Racing Green with a Barley interior. It now has 116,000 on the clock (115,750 when I bought it). I have all service records, all original brochures, window sticker, etc. All the goodies.

I work in a Land Rover dealership and never thought I'd be a Jag owner but this thing was so cherry and sat in our showroom since November. I had to get it. I used to be a technician here and am pretty familiar with Lucas systems and being ASE I figured hey I'm just crazy enough to own and work on this thing. I bought it as a Sunday driver so I only expect to drive it around 2,000 a year.

Had a hard time starting and running after it sat in the showroom for a couple months and it had a small leak. I'm familiar with the jokes on older jags/landys about leaking oil and I wasn't affraid to deal with the challenge. The fuel smelled varnished so I figured from looking at the records it really didn't need anything except for a battery, fuel stabilizer, and tune up.

Did the battery, tightened a ground right next to it, put stabilizer in and ran a bunch of fuel through it and vuala. Ran as smooth as I'd imagine except for a light mis that I figure the tune-up will take care of.

Yesterday I started the tune up(distributor cap, rotor, wires, plugs). I did it according to "accessing the vee" except for taking the entire TB tower out I just removed the top. I have thin hands and good in small spaces so I'm not worried about the two plugs on either side.