XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Rear Caliper Rebuild: Does IRS need to be Dropped?

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2010, 04:23 PM
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Rear Caliper Rebuild: Does IRS need to be Dropped?

Ok, so front calipers are done. Not so bad, just time consuming. I examined the rears and there is uneven wear on the driver side pads, most likely indicating an immobile piston. This really looks like a PITA job as there is simply no room to do anything.

I am not a mechanic, but can follow directions quite well...Does the IRS need to be dropped for me to get those calipers in my hands?

I read a post saying that the dropping of the IRS is not that difficult of a job, but then again this guy may be an expert mechanic and that thing also looks pretty heavy. Thanx for your help!

Old 06-10-2010, 08:37 PM
Veteran Member
Received 10,757 Likes on 7,101 Posts

Originally Posted by michaem101
Ok, so front calipers are done. Not so bad, just time consuming. I examined the rears and there is uneven wear on the driver side pads, most likely indicating an immobile piston. This really looks like a PITA job as there is simply no room to do anything.

I am not a mechanic, but can follow directions quite well...Does the IRS need to be dropped for me to get those calipers in my hands?

I read a post saying that the dropping of the IRS is not that difficult of a job, but then again this guy may be an expert mechanic and that thing also looks pretty heavy. Thanx for your help!

Nope. You can remove 'em with the rear suspension in place. Not fun, but prefectly doable. Bring whatever you'll need to be comfortable under the car 'cuz you'll be there for quite a while :-).

How are your rear rotors? if they need replacing it's best to drop the suspension. Removing the rotors mean letting the lower control arms swing wayyyyy down which mean having the car elevated wayyyyyy high on jackstands....higher than most would be comfortable with.

Cheers
DD