XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Rear shocks, springs and Radius arm bushings

Old 03-28-2014, 10:05 AM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Rear shocks, springs and Radius arm bushings

Finally installed my new rear springs and shocks. While I was in there I also replaced the radius arm bushings. The springs were from the drivenman.com, I used Bilstein shocks.

Thanks to all the good input from this forum it made the job doable, I have never done any of this type of work before. So, if I can do it, anyone can.

I used the rolling bar method to remove the radius arm, worked great. Since I did not have a rolling wedge I used a 12" crescent opened all the way and used the fixed end to pry on the large bushing, both arms fell off after a few tugs, and a couple of whacks with a rubber mallet, that was a great tip. Took the arms to a local machine shop, they charged 80 bucks to press out the old and press in the new.

The rear shocks and springs went in without a hitch, but the rear sits too low in my opinion.

So, I need some tips on what I can do to raise the ride height about an inch and a half on the rear. Thanks

The attached pictures: top down-before new springs and shocks
top up-after

Attached Thumbnails Rear shocks, springs and Radius arm bushings-dsc00711.jpg   Rear shocks, springs and Radius arm bushings-imag0058.jpg  
Old 03-28-2014, 10:51 AM
Veteran Member
Received 9,076 Likes on 5,344 Posts

Congrats on the job. The rear is too low in the pic. Are you sure the springs are correctly on the shock absorbers? The welded ring point on the shocker where the upper spring pan rests controls the rear ride height. You might even have been supplied with shocks for the wrong model, even. Can you compare this with where it was on your previous shocker? Has the Dm supplied you with lowering (ie shorter) springs?

Luckily, removing and changing them is straightforward!

Greg

The following users liked this post:
EJ Garity (03-28-2014)
Old 03-28-2014, 11:07 AM