XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Renewing brakes

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2014, 06:53 PM
Received 15 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Renewing brakes

Any idea what could be the cost to renew the brakes all around, rotors and pads on a 95 XJS who I believe has the brakes on the outside and not inboard right? Thanks

Old 09-30-2014, 07:15 PM
Received 231 Likes on 167 Posts

You're probably looking at $800.00 plus for all four wheels (including new rotors). The fronts are four piston fixed calipers and too many shops screw the job up. The rear brakes are outboard.

You're better off to do it yourself for $75.00 to $100.00 a wheel if you replace the rotors.

Old 10-01-2014, 07:26 AM
Received 15 Likes on 7 Posts

thanks for your quick reply, can somebody give me more information how to do it, like step 1 , step 2 ... I'm not a mechanic but certainly willing to give it a try. Thanks

Old 10-01-2014, 08:50 AM
Received 101 Likes on 70 Posts

I'm no mechanic either but I found some very good instructions in the Sticky "How To" Links above. Look for the link entitled "How to replace your calipers". While you are at it, its a good a time as any to check/repack the wheel bearings. Ask here or look it up on the web on how to do that. It's fairly easy as well.
I hate to admit it but.....OK, here goes....I ran out of time and had to bring the car to the shop to do the rear brakes. I also had them check my work on the front as it was the first time I had done this kind of work. Total cost for the shop (after I supplied the parts) was $350. There, I said it out loud and admitted to having someone else work on my car, I feel better now.

Old 10-01-2014, 09:37 AM
Received 190 Likes on 151 Posts

Originally Posted by marmar1305
thanks for your quick reply, can somebody give me more information how to do it, like step 1 , step 2 ... I'm not a mechanic but certainly willing to give it a try. Thanks
Logically, step 1 would be purchase manual for your car. The DVD offered