XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

should i get an xjs?

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2011, 03:12 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default should i get an xjs?

Im pretty sure I already know the answer to my question but I'm going to ask it anyway. I'm 18 and I have some experience with cars fixing up my 1976 skylark. I love the xjs and I found a really nice and clean 1990 v12 xjs in SD for 3000 with only 30k miles on it. It runs fine but I was wondering if it would be completely out of the question for me to buy this car and use it close to a daily driver. Thanks

Old 06-28-2011, 03:17 PM
Veteran Member
Received 10,757 Likes on 7,101 Posts

Originally Posted by justsoup
Im pretty sure I already know the answer to my question but I'm going to ask it anyway. I'm 18 and I have some experience with cars fixing up my 1976 skylark. I love the xjs and I found a really nice and clean 1990 v12 xjs in SD for 3000 with only 30k miles on it. It runs fine but I was wondering if it would be completely out of the question for me to buy this car and use it close to a daily driver. Thanks

Not out of the question but it DOES take money and effort to keep and XJS in good order....especially for a few months after you've bought one because you'll be catching up on all the things the previous owner didn't take care of.

Did you check out the buyer's guide?

Cheers
DD

Old 06-28-2011, 04:08 PM
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Went through the same question on a local car a month or so and got it. Haven't regretted it. If you hand and have the money and time to wait for parts then I'd say yes. However, That 3 grand sounds slightly on the cheap side to me (though I haven't priced a 1990). I'd definitely give it a good going over - there appears to be a fine line between a Jag that needs a little love and one that is a black hole of mechanical need (especially if it has been sitting for a while).

Old 06-28-2011, 04:39 PM
Received 193 Likes on 108 Posts