XK / XKR ( X150 ) 2006 - 2014

Instrument cluster

 
  #1  
Old 05-12-2019, 01:07 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 31
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Instrument cluster

Hi all. Hope your driving experience is going well.

I'm hoping someone on this forum has a bit of knowledge on the electrical side.

My 2009 XK has had a fault with the instrument cluster since I bought it last year where the centre display is very dim and under bright sunshine almost unreadable. At night it's fine and the problem has been diagnosed as a faulty voltage regulator. The auto sparky is going to find a donor cluster and have a specialist swap out my faulty one. He seems to be very particular about getting the exact same donor with same year and vin number range as my car. Due to this the available options are limited and all seem to be around the $1200 plus range. I have seen some for as little as $200 albeit not the exact year as mine.

My question being would a voltage regulator from different years or vin ranges be any different?

Thanks in advance for any wisdom out there.
 
  #2  
Old 05-12-2019, 03:48 AM
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 8,310
Received 3,703 Likes on 2,191 Posts
Default

I would take it to a nerd who repairs electronic stuff and get them to fix it, if it is just a voltage regulator.

Swapping instrument clusters is not a small job, both keys need to be unpaired from the original cluster, and programmed to the new one, as well as the cluster being programmed to the car.

There is also the issue of the VIN being stored in the cluster (dealers diagnostic tool doesn't overwrite this), and the odometer needs to be corrected too, both things not easy to solve.
 
  #3  
Old 05-12-2019, 04:32 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 31
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Thank you very much for replying to my post. Yes, that is what I plan on doing again. The first time I had it looked at the guy said I would need to get a donor cluster to salvage the voltage regulator. I thought it was kind of strange that the part couldn't be bought or found as is online. It's really hard here in NZ as there aren't many options to source parts except getting them from overseas.Thanks again.
 
  #4  
Old 05-12-2019, 05:13 AM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,081
Received 794 Likes on 510 Posts
Default

If you do need bits and pieces give Shane Clinch a call on 03-377 9520. When I saw him on Saturday he mentioned that he had just stripped an XK for parts but didn't mention what model year so I don't know if it was an X100 or X150.

He does have quite a few spares so may be able to help anyway. He also has trade contacts so may be able to source parts if he doesn't have them himself.

https://www.clinchautomotive.co.nz/
 
  #5  
Old 05-12-2019, 05:26 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 31
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Thanks for that! I'll call him tomorrow. It's really nice to have people who take the time to help someone out. This fault has been driving me nuts.
 
  #6  
Old 05-12-2019, 10:21 AM
arenaej's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Coatesville, PA
Posts: 53
Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Default

My center display was also very dim. I found out on this forum...thanks to Ranchero50, the screen is the same on an XF. I found a new one from China on eBay. Disassembly was a bit tedious, but not too difficult. The screen is plug and play...thanks for advice from Cambo...with much assistance from this forum, total cost was $35.00 and 3 hours of my time.
 
  #7  
Old 05-12-2019, 02:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 31
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Wow! I wish mine was so simple to fix. Unfortunately I'm no good at fixing techo stuff so will have to send it away to see if they can repair it. Thanks for replying to my post.
 
  #8  
Old 05-12-2019, 04:43 PM
Ranchero50's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Hagerstown MD
Posts: 2,764
Received 758 Likes on 566 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Brian123 View Post
Wow! I wish mine was so simple to fix. Unfortunately I'm no good at fixing techo stuff so will have to send it away to see if they can repair it. Thanks for replying to my post.
You can do this. The hardest part is popping the front cover off. Then it's just two plugs and a bunch of screws to get the cluster out which you'll need to do regardless as the car won't move without the cluster installed. Actually once it's out it's a couple screws hold the layers together and the center display pops right out and has a simple ribbon harness connection. Figure an hour to get it out and apart the first time you do it. I have pictures in my build thread (I swapped the silver XF gauge faces into mine).

As said above, the display was on Aliexpress a while ago for little money and should be easily sourced. I wouldn't do a junker as the lamp (not the voltage regulator) probably has about the same life left as your old one did.
 
  #9  
Old 05-12-2019, 05:17 PM
arenaej's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Coatesville, PA
Posts: 53
Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Default

You can do it! I followed the pics and instructions on Ranchero50’s build thread. Take your time and it will go well. Here’s a link to the part on eBay.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/LQ038Q5DR02...item4b51862fc7

$30 + $10 shipping
 
  #10  
Old 05-12-2019, 05:31 PM
arenaej's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Coatesville, PA
Posts: 53
Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Default

Here’s the instructions if the pdf is attached
 
Attached Files
File Type: pdf
cluster.pdf (137.5 KB, 9 views)
  #11  
Old 05-12-2019, 07:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 31
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

That's really nice of you to spend the time helping me. The guy who pulled my cluster apart said it is the voltage regulator causing my display to appear dim. The part needed is not available and has to be removed from a donor according to him.
 
  #12  
Old 05-12-2019, 07:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 31
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Thanks for that. There are some really nice folk on this forum and it is very much appreciated.
 
  #13  
Old 05-13-2019, 06:49 PM
Reverend Sam's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,737
Received 798 Likes on 401 Posts
Default

Does you car have one of those aftermarket dash covers? On one of the cars I test drove the instrument panel was very dim. I thought there was a problem, but then I realized the dash cover was covering the light sensor on the dash. Once I moved it the instrument panel lights came on at full brightness.
 
  #14  
Old 05-13-2019, 07:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 31
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Hi there, Thanks for your help. I just checked and there is nothing covering the sensor unfortunately. I wish it were that simple. Best regards, Brian.
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
car5car
S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 )
7
05-05-2017 09:31 AM
Tracy Weiland
XK8 / XKR ( X100 )
4
08-28-2016 11:34 PM
car5car
S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 )
3
06-26-2016 05:33 PM
Grim001
X-Type ( X400 )
3
10-19-2013 03:57 PM
X-Type ( X400 )
11
04-26-2007 02:10 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Instrument cluster


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: