XK / XKR ( X150 ) 2006 - 2014
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Would you buy a water damaged XKR?

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2013, 11:39 AM
Received 15 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Would you buy a water damaged XKR?

I'm considering the merits of putting in an offer for an XKR that supposedly sustained fresh water damage. Would I be a complete idiot for doing so? Does anyone out there with knowledge of these cars' electrical systems know if this would be worth taking on, or would it be an impossible task? Thanks for any valid input you all can offer.

Old 08-12-2013, 11:42 AM

Also, I have zero knowledge of the incident, nor do I know if someone tried to start it afterward. Mainly, I'm hoping to find out if this is even worth taking the time to pursue. Again, thank you all in advance.

Old 08-12-2013, 11:53 AM
Veteran Member
Received 2,981 Likes on 2,123 Posts

These cars haves literally dozens of electronic modules, which are not water friendly and control every aspect of the vehicle.

Some of the modules will need to be programmed to the vehicle even if you find replacements. Then, if you manage to get it working you could still be looking at a lifetime of intermttent issues.

Unless you have at least dealer level diagnostic equipment, strong electronics skills and more knowledge of just what happened this can be a costly frustrating nightmare.

The following users liked this post:
GritsNCornbread (08-12-2013)
Old 08-12-2013, 11:56 AM
Veteran Member
Received 594 Likes on 422 Posts

I would advise against that purchase. I suspect that any factory warranty would be invalidated by the water issue. The electronics are far too complex and expensive on this car to take a chance. You did not mention the price but, that could be a factor. For me to consider something like that it would have to be nearly given away free.

Albert

Old 08-12-2013, 12:18 PM
Veteran Member
Received 874 Likes on 633 Posts

Wouldnt touch it...