XK / XKR ( X150 ) 2006 - 2014

XKR Oil cooling

 
  #1  
Old 05-02-2019, 03:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 34
Received 9 Likes on 3 Posts
Default XKR Oil cooling

Evening guys,

Looking to try to get better oil cooling for my 5.0 SC XKR, as the standard oil cooler, being in the engine V, isn't adequate enough. (Reaching 130C oil temps around the nurburgring)
Is there a way of adding a second air to air oil cooler? As i don't fancy trying to find a way of modifying the original cooler or taking out the supercharger/intake manifold just to access it!

Thanks in advanced
 
  #2  
Old 05-02-2019, 04:30 PM
Ranchero50's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Hagerstown MD
Posts: 2,764
Received 758 Likes on 566 Posts
Default

Once you pull the nose off you'll see how much room you have to add another cooler. There's actually a good bit of room but the plumbing will be a nightmare. You'd probably have better luck with a larger cooler versus multiple ones.
 
  #3  
Old 05-02-2019, 04:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 34
Received 9 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Ranchero50 View Post
Once you pull the nose off you'll see how much room you have to add another cooler. There's actually a good bit of room but the plumbing will be a nightmare. You'd probably have better luck with a larger cooler versus multiple ones.
That's the issue, the standard oil "cooler" uses the coolant as well, so would be a massive job to upgrade!
 
  #4  
Old 05-02-2019, 05:12 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 245
Received 56 Likes on 41 Posts
Default

How are you reading the oil temperature and do you know where the temp sensor is? Also, what was the coolant temperature when the oil was at 130 deg C?
 
  #5  
Old 05-02-2019, 05:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 34
Received 9 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by TXFireblade View Post
How are you reading the oil temperature and do you know where the temp sensor is?
With the torque app via ODB, it uses the standard sensor that's in the diff I imagine?
 
  #6  
Old 05-02-2019, 05:28 PM
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 8,310
Received 3,703 Likes on 2,191 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by pauledddy View Post
With the torque app via ODB, it uses the standard sensor that's in the diff I imagine?
Um, are we talking about the engine oil or the diff oil?

Are you using the additional PIDs for Torque to read the oil temperature? https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/g...p-more-213503/
 
  #7  
Old 05-02-2019, 05:35 PM
Cee Jay's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Kaysville, Utah, US
Posts: 5,419
Received 1,146 Likes on 855 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by pauledddy View Post
................. adding a second air to air oil cooler? ............
That'd be tricky, it'd probably have to be an Air-to-Oil cooler, as oil isn't air.
I know, semantics.
 
  #8  
Old 05-02-2019, 05:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 34
Received 9 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Cambo View Post
Um, are we talking about the engine oil or the diff oil?

Are you using the additional PIDs for Torque to read the oil temperature? https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/g...p-more-213503/
Yes I was using that exact one
Engine oil, I didn't mean to put diff lol
 

Last edited by pauledddy; 05-02-2019 at 05:39 PM. Reason: Misread my comment
  #9  
Old 05-02-2019, 05:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 34
Received 9 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Cee Jay View Post
That'd be tricky, it'd probably have to be an Air-to-Oil cooler, as oil isn't air.
I know, semantics.
You know what I meant Cee Jay!
 
The following 2 users liked this post by pauledddy:
Cee Jay (05-02-2019), Panthro (05-06-2019)
  #10  
Old 05-02-2019, 05:44 PM
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 8,310
Received 3,703 Likes on 2,191 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by pauledddy View Post
Yes I was using that exact one
Engine oil, I know how to read..
Okay, but you wrote "it uses the standard sensor that's in the diff I imagine?" hence my question.

So I would have the same question as TXFireblade, what was the engine coolant temp when the oil temp was up at 130degC?
 
  #11  
Old 05-02-2019, 06:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 34
Received 9 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Cambo View Post
Okay, but you wrote "it uses the standard sensor that's in the diff I imagine?" hence my question.

So I would have the same question as TXFireblade, what was the engine coolant temp when the oil temp was up at 130degC?
Yeah I corrected myself

I can't remember what the coolant temperature was, but I know when I went around track that it flashed that it was too hot, plus he didn't type that second part so I didn't see that.
This has nothing to do with what I originally asked, if you can't help with my original question, don't comment. Simple.
 
  #12  
Old 05-02-2019, 06:56 PM
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 8,310
Received 3,703 Likes on 2,191 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by pauledddy View Post
Yeah I corrected myself

I can't remember what the coolant temperature was, but I know when I went around track that it flashed that it was too hot, plus he didn't type that second part so I didn't see that.
This has nothing to do with what I originally asked, if you can't help with my original question, don't comment. Simple.
Well then, wish you good luck.
 
The following users liked this post:
kj07xk (05-02-2019)
  #13  
Old 05-02-2019, 09:42 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 245
Received 56 Likes on 41 Posts
Default

Easy there tiger, he's (and the rest of us) is just trying to understand the question.

I don't have a detailed description of the flow through the lubrication system but based on the manual I think the flow goes from the sump (oil pan), through the oil pump, through the oil cooler, through the filter, into the block/heads/bearings/etc. and then back to the sump That would mean that the oil returning to the sump was at the highest temperature in it's cycle through the engine. If this is correct, the oil will start it's lubrication/cooling job having just left the cooler so it should be at the temperature of the coolant or thereabouts..
 
The following users liked this post:
ralphwg (05-02-2019)
  #14  
Old 05-03-2019, 11:15 AM
Ranchero50's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Hagerstown MD
Posts: 2,764
Received 758 Likes on 566 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by pauledddy View Post
That's the issue, the standard oil "cooler" uses the coolant as well, so would be a massive job to upgrade!
The 4.2's use air and maybe coolant at the filter mount (not sure and it's been a while since I was down there). Anything is possible, especially if you can machine a remote filter housing and adapter plate for the block.

Do you have the free X150 service manual? Tons of excellent info in there about all of the systems on these cars.
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Qvhk
XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 )
11
01-01-2018 10:10 AM
jagosaurus
XK8 / XKR ( X100 )
8
01-10-2013 12:55 PM
Jagger86
XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III
1
09-27-2011 10:31 AM
blaksplash
S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 )
86
06-20-2011 05:14 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: XKR Oil cooling


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: