XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1997 XK8 Battery Drain

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2015, 11:24 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 1997 XK8 Battery Drain

My wife's mid life crisis car, and I have to admit, it's a blast. Very unfortunate it doesn't get driven much, but lately (the last year or so) there has been a very slow battery drain. I can put a full charge on the battery, and it will be completely dead in a few weeks. It's very clean, the entire mechanical part of the car almost looks new....all wiring and terminations are super clean, no oil on the engine or drive train, etc.
Have had it looked at by several local shops that claim to do Jag work and they are at a loss. Could anybody out there give me a starting point to troubleshoot this anomaly? While I am a forty year commercial electrician, automotive wiring is a little challenging.
Thank you in advance for any suggestions you may have. Last resort would be to take it to the big city Jag dealership is Sarasota where an oil change and repair of a burned out light bulb in the factory stereo was a little over a Grand $$$$$ Ouch
Again, Thank You
Randy

Last edited by GGG; 11-09-2015 at 05:05 AM. Reason: amend 1979 to 1997
Old 11-09-2015, 03:03 AM
Received 10,313 Likes on 6,823 Posts

Randy,

Welcome to the forum.

I think there is a typo. "1979 XK8", I think? should be 1997 XK8.

I would put your request in the XK8 section, and the answers will flow.

Old 11-09-2015, 05:04 AM
GGG
Received 16,800 Likes on 12,169 Posts

Originally Posted by RandyEllis
My wife's mid life crisis car, and I have to admit, it's a blast. ....
Welcome to the forum Randy,

I've moved your question from General Tech Help to XK8/XKR forum and edited the typo in your thread title. Members here with the same model will be able to help.