XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

A few Problems can anyone help?

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2014, 11:22 PM
Received 28 Likes on 14 Posts
Angry A few Problems can anyone help?

So, I purchased this 2000 XKR Convertible with a few issues, but I am having problems resolving some of them, can anyone help? I am new with these cars.

1. Windscreen washers does not squirt, tested the pump and it works fine when you add 12volts to the 2 back pins. There's also permanent live at the plug to the pump on the 3rd pin, but when you press the washer button no pump sound and no water appears? Do the washers have a relay maybe? Checked all the fuses but could not find a relay for the washers.

2. Maybe worse, the air bag senor warning comes on when you start up, so I got a pair of sensors, only to find out that the wiring loom has gone from the front bumper area of the car that they plug into? I took the bumper off and there is no sign of the wiring at all. And none has been cut? Unless with a cruise control model the sensors are elsewhere?

Old 09-04-2014, 02:26 AM
GGG
Received 16,798 Likes on 12,167 Posts

You have already posted an Intro here:

https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/n...st-xkr-125439/

Please read the advice we gave you there about posting to the forum.

I've moved your question from Intro to XK8/XKR forum. Members here with the same model will be able to help.

Graham

Old 09-04-2014, 02:57 AM
Received 71 Likes on 60 Posts

1). Looks that the washer pump is a direct output from the BPM as is the switch a direct input, have you looked at the simples first.....no ground or poor earth?
2). Air bag issues are interesting to say the least.....not sure about your MY but the air bag lamp should flash when you start up, this flash is a seq of code to give you an indication if what the fault is....I don't think early cars had this flash seq so it may remain solid?

Old 09-04-2014, 12:48 PM
Veteran Member
Received 600 Likes on 446 Posts