XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Green Shower INTERIM Fix Adventure begins

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2013, 09:41 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Green Shower INTERIM Fix Adventure begins

Folks, this is my first attempt at pics in the post. If it gets messy, I will do my best to clean it up.

IT GOT MESSY. PLEASE SEE MY ADDED POST WITH PIX ATTACHED.
Here is a pic of my overhead assembly removed and laid out next to the driver’s door.

Here is a closer look at the previous repair, still in place.

Here is the previous repair removed (shot from other side for better lighting).

Please note the “Americanized” elbow fitting. If you look closely, you can see burst points in each repair, one about ½ inch from the fitting and one right at the fitting.
For a quick fix and getting the top to work again, I plan to go to a well- respected, local hyd repair shop and have them duplicate the entire repair pieces using their best hose and fittings.
Does anyone see a problem with this initial fix, if this is my only leaking area?

Last edited by Norri; 09-03-2013 at 10:18 AM. Reason: Added pics
Old 09-03-2013, 09:47 AM
Veteran Member
Received 2,783 Likes on 2,227 Posts

I was unable to view your pictures, but that may be because my desktop is running XP.

Old 09-03-2013, 09:50 AM

MY initial attempt to place pix in the text did not seem to work. I hope these come thru as attachments.

Attached Thumbnails Green Shower INTERIM Fix Adventure begins-top-latch-hyd-laid-out.jpg   Green Shower INTERIM Fix Adventure begins-top-hyd-previous-repair.jpg   Green Shower INTERIM Fix Adventure begins-top-hyd-repair-sections-removed-note-elbow.jpg  
Old 09-03-2013, 09:56 AM
Veteran Member