XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Jaguar XK8 engine swap experience and takeaways

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2018, 05:43 PM
Received 30 Likes on 15 Posts
Cool Jaguar XK8 engine swap experience and takeaways

I want to start this, may be too long, thread with couple of disclaimers I am a game developer and though I am a petrol head from the moment I got my hands on a driving license, most tinkerings with my cars were very small jobs and mostly techy stuff. Also I don't think I'll be able to nail all technical terms correctly, so I'm sorry about it

I am creating this thread to share some of my recent experience with my 97' Jaguar XK8, particularly in the engine swapping department

I got the car from a friend of mine, who had it for over 5 years and it barely had 35k km during that period. It was mostly being repaired little by little. Recently I finally managed to snag it from him, for a very fair price, given the condition it was in. Faking mileage in my country is a thing, so nobody really knows what is the current mileage of the car . Whenever my friend drove the car, he drove it as 85 yo British jag club member on his way to the gold course. Well... I didn't drive it like that. Not even 1000km after I got it, this happened:

Jaguar XK8 AJ26 to AJ28 engine swap?

Long story short - a new engine was needed as I didn't want to waste any money and time at the moment to try and repair its own engine... for now. Why is this? My other "nice" car is in the shop for a tranny rebuild, torque converter refurbish, turbo refurbish, timing chains, timing belts and pulleys, and some other stuff. It is now taking close to 3 months, because of various reasons from mechanics taking summer vacations to parts not arriving, because of other people taking summer vacations and so on and so on. My Polo GTI is awesome, but for the city, and I really wanted at least the Jag or the Audi to be up and running. So the Jag got prioritized.