XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

K&N air filter on supercharged engine

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2019, 08:19 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default K&N air filter on supercharged engine

Good or bad? I'm new to Jaguar ownership and want the beauty to last my lifetime.

Old 05-17-2019, 09:07 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,579 Likes on 945 Posts

Personally I prefer the stock air filter, change it regularly, or sooner if I've had to drive thru some dusty weather. My last air filter element only has 5,000 miles on it when I was on a long road trip that entailed a pretty bad dust storm in western Oklahoma panhandle. As soon as I got home I put on a new filter.

i have never trusted the K&N air filter element system to do as good of a job as a conventional paper element. My engines have always outlasted the rest of the car on every car and motorcycle I've owned. So why switch ?

Z

The following users liked this post:
CorStevens (05-19-2019)
Old 05-17-2019, 09:39 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,417 Likes on 755 Posts
Default K N Filers are reusable but need special cleaning oil

Not sure if you are replacing the OEM paper filter or are planning a performance upgrade. Lots of people have done it on the XKR.

The KN filter are re-usable but require cleaning with KN Oil.

You may get marginal better performance and MPG, but on a X100, the OEM paper filter is a cheap easy swap out. On my base 1999 XK8, if I hit a bad sandstorm, I just use a hoover on the filter element when I get home. Always change it out as part of my regular service schedule.

Old 05-17-2019, 09:57 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,579 Likes on 945 Posts

yeah, the K&N's are reusable indefinitely and have a 2 part regimen for cleaning, then oiling, preferably with the K&N proprietary spray cleaner and spray oil.