XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LS1 Conversion Chapter 1

Old 05-13-2014, 06:53 PM
Received 107 Likes on 39 Posts
Default LS1 Conversion Chapter 1

Disclaimer, The story I am about to tell you is my own experience and is in no way associated with any business or organization of any kind. I would like to add that I am not a mechanic (Electrician actually), just a guy with some ability, some good friends and a broken Jag.

LS1 Conversion Chapter 1
Hello all
My name is Mark aka Skooba Kowboy. I live in Kamloops , BC Canada.
In April, 2011 I bought a 1998 Jaguar XK8 convertible. It had 262,000 kilometers on it. That's 162,800 miles for my American friends. I thought it was a good deal but a year and a bit later the tranny popped. A-clutch drum catastophic failure.
What to do? I got a quote to repair of around 8 large but with the engine getting tired I began to explore other options.

I stumbled across Jaguar Specialties on youtube one day and I recalled that I had met a local fellow who put a small block Chevy in a 1968 Jag.
I hummed and hawed for months and started talking to my good friend Johnny about a conversion.
We began to research it a bit when Johnny mentioned it to Troy (the Cascar Crew Chief) and he thought I was nuts!!
We showed Troy that there was a kit and his curiosity grew. We wanted more info so I started a dialogue with Andrew from Jaguar Specialties (Jag Specs) and we got the info we needed to get the research going full tilt.
The three of us put together the pricing and other resources and one day said those famous words in motorsports, "what the hell, let's do it".
We ordered the kit which was delayed by a few days because some of the parts did not pass QC. I figured I was in pretty good hands dealing with a guy who takes the time to check the parts.
I found a donor car in Vernon BC. A 2002 Camaro Z28 5.7litre with a 4L60E trans. It had 155,000km on it. We wanted to buy a runner so we knew what we had.