XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My Ownership Journey

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2016, 04:45 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default My Ownership Journey

Hi I am pretty new to this Jag ownership journey and probably would not have taken the plunge had it not been for the information available on these forums.

I am a qualified motor mechanic by trade but have not worked in the field since the early 90s, things have changed a bit since then. I still modify and repair my other vehicles over the years though.

I thought I would start this thread to document my ownership of this car. Hopefully others looking to take the plunge can gain something from my experiences as they unfold. It would also be great if more experienced members could offer advise as I go.

Being in Perth Western Australia I am a bit isolated On this one.

Here We go (A deep breath or deep pockets only time will tell)

Cheers
Bryan

Last edited by Lilbro; 11-10-2016 at 05:11 PM.
The following users liked this post:
test point (11-10-2016)
Old 11-10-2016, 05:10 PM

The Purchase
I began the search for my Jaguar a couple of years ago. Listening to all the forum advice I finally secured a 2000 XKR Classic with 116,000km on the clock. It has an complete service history and in the 12 months before purchase has had all new brakes, tyres, auto trans service and the all important new top and bottom guides and chains replaced. I know the advantages of a later 4.2 but could not justify the price for a weekend car.

The first interesting fact for you all is that here in Australia you have to pay over $30,000AUD for such a car. When I see the prices others pay in the US and UK makes me a bit envious. At least here with the good climate we dont have the same rust issues.

On getting the car home a few months ago all was well, I noticed the headrests don't go up and down, front seets and arm rest need a freshen up and also the seat belt buckle latch covers are cracking.