XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006

P0171 & intake leak at #6

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2017, 04:40 PM
Received 247 Likes on 177 Posts
Default P0171 & intake leak at #6

I've been fighting a P0171 code on my '99 XK8 for a several months. I don't drive the car all that much...pretty regularly but no real long runs so I've only driven it between 10 & 11K in the last 3 years so it hasn't been a front burner issue. To boot it only goes into restricted mode when I'm at idle or in a very slow traffic as at a light or stop sign and then clears up within the next 1/4 to 1/2 mile and runs perfectly.

Today I decided to get semi-serious about it and decided to find that damn leak come hell or high water. I'd already checked all the hoses, vacuum connections, VVT seals, MAF and IAT sensors had been cleaned and re-cleaned, full and part load breathers had been checked and cleaned so I was pretty much left thinking intake manifold.

It had also thrown a P300 & P306 so I swapped in a new coil on #6 to no avail and the plugs had all been replaced within the last 1000 miles. The P306 code went away but not the lean condition. STFT had re-learned so it was a 0 while the LTFT had stabilized itself just shy of 20.

Here's were I need help or advice.

I hooked the OBD up through my laptop and started the car up. Since I had run it around town earlier it was still near operating temperature and since it was idling the RP was active. I took a can of spray carb cleaner and sprayed it pretty liberally at the intake manifold to engine joint at #6 and watched the STFT go about -10% for a few seconds (10-20 I wasn't counting) and quickly afterwards the P300 & P306 codes reappeared and it ran even rougher for a couple of minutes before settling back to an off key sort of loping idle.