Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

upper arm damage

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2014, 09:31 AM
Veteran Member
Received 883 Likes on 472 Posts
Default upper arm damage

I managed to hit the upper arm with a grinding disc when cutting off the stuck fulcrum bolt.

So welded it up and sanded it down.

Can any mechanical engineer out there comment on whether or not that is an acceptable fix?

Old 10-25-2014, 09:41 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,110 Likes on 932 Posts

I'm no engineer other than shade tree but suspect that the welding did a lot more damage than the nick with the grinder.

Old 10-25-2014, 11:50 AM
Veteran Member

Originally Posted by test point
I'm no engineer other than shade tree but suspect that the welding did a lot more damage than the nick with the grinder.
Can you explain why?

Old 10-25-2014, 01:17 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,110 Likes on 932 Posts

You undid any heat treatment/hardening engineered into the upper arm.

Old 10-25-2014, 01:22 PM
Veteran Member
Received 600 Likes on 446 Posts

Well many years ago I worked as a Metallurgist at a TRW steering and Suspension factory. What little knowledge may grey matter allows me to retain tells me this;

I suspect the control arms are cast from low carbon steel that have been tempered to relieve the stress caused by the machining and forging process. No high tensile strength heat treating going on to this part.

What Test Point is concerned about, I think, is the heat generated from the welding causing a hardening effect on the steel which "may" make it brittle if it is not tempered again. I do not think this will be an issue as the steel used is most likely not a high enough carbon content to cause an issue.

As for the "nick" in the first place, as long as there were no sharp edges I don't think it was deep enough to cause an issue and the repair by welding is completely acceptable. Without the welding I would have just relieved the edges with a grinder to make it a smooth transition and move on.