XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Instrument panel brake warning lights

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2015, 07:07 AM
Received 180 Likes on 124 Posts
Default Instrument panel brake warning lights

Hi everyone, I have some issues with instrument panel brakewarning lights.Being an XJS novice I wouldappreciate any guidance or words of wisdom. Car is a 1990, 3.6 XJS coupe.
Didn’t realise the car had ALBS when I bought it and thenrealised the dash warning light wasn’t coming on at all, even at start up.Replaced the blown bulb and this is nowilluminated all the time.Maybe this isan example of “if it is broke don’t fix it!”Just joking as clearly this has to be sorted.
I have manuals to study but understand the system to bebasically wheel sensors, connecting wires and an ALBS brain.So, in your collective experience, where dothe majority of problems occur i.e., where should I start?Also I believe I read somewhere that it ispossible to interrogate the ALBS brain and establish fault codes but can’tremember where I saw this – has anyone else seen anything similar?
A further question; Before I replaced the ALBS bulb theother brake warning light on the panel would come on at ignition turn on, the brakepump would hum to build up pressure and 20 seconds later the pump would ceaseand the warning light go out as it all should. Hooray! Problem is since I temporarilyreplaced the ALBS bulb the brake warning light no longer comes on even though Ican still hear the pump still doing its stuff.Is there some odd connectivity between the ALBS and brake warningsystems or have I somehow disturbed the wiring to the latter?
Despite all of the above the brakes are powerful, pull thecar up in a straight line and the pedal feels normal.
Thanks for reading this far and would be grateful for anyadvice.
Cheers,
LeeP

Old 08-05-2015, 07:37 AM
Veteran Member
Received 2,935 Likes on 1,956 Posts

LeeP,

ABS problems seem to be the flavour of the month here!