Racer Katherine Legge Makes History with Jaguar I-Pace eTrophy Victory

By -

Jaguar I-Pace eTrophy racing series electrifies fans, steals the thunder from FIA Formula E during Mexico City race weekend.

Katherine Legge (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing) claimed victory today in round two of the Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY at the iconic Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez circuit, in Mexico City.

Katherine Legge started on pole position, with team mate Bryan Sellers alongside in second, round one winner, Simon Evans of Team Asia New Zealand starting in third and Jaguar VIP driver, Salvador Duran starting on the grid in fourth.

Katherine Legge Wins Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY Mexico City 2019 FIA Formula E Race Jaguarforums.com

Legge took an impressive lights to flag victory with fellow Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing driver Bryan Sellers pushing his team mate all the way to the checkered flag. She now leads the series and made history by being the first female racing driver to win a race during an ABB FIA Formula E weekend.


ALSO SEE: Jaguar I-Pace Review: ‘The Electrified Future We All Deserve’


Legge said: “I have been looking forward to getting back in the car ever since Ad Diriyah; and to come away with a podium finish in Mexico is amazing and testament to the hard work the team have put into the car this week. There were a lot of learnings from round one, and to put these into play in Mexico is really rewarding. Hong Kong cannot come soon enough, and I hope to take the momentum from this race into the rest of the season.”

Sérgio Jimenez completed the podium for Jaguar Brazil Racing having taken advantage of a collision at the chicane which forced Mexican VIP driver Salvador Durán to retire after hitting Caca Bueno’s Jaguar I-PACE. Kiwi driver Simon Evans had to avoid the accident which pushed him down the order. Bander Alesayi took the Pro-Am class victory with fifth place overall.

The Jaguar I-Pace eTrophy is the first series for battery electric production-based cars and is a proof point of Jaguar Racing’s “Race to Innovate” mission; taking learnings from the racetrack and putting them back into their road vehicles.

The third round of the Jaguar I-Pace eTrophy series will be held in Hong Kong on 10 March 2019.

Join the Jaguar forums today!

Comments ()