Go Back  Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum > Brand Review > Jaguar Engines & transmissions
Reload this Page >

AJ133 Jag to RR Swap NEED HELP DESPERATE PLEASE :)

Jaguar Engines & transmissions Discuss performance / modifications / upgrades etc here..

AJ133 Jag to RR Swap NEED HELP DESPERATE PLEASE :)

 
  #1  
Old 06-07-2019, 01:41 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: NY
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default AJ133 Jag to RR Swap NEED HELP DESPERATE PLEASE :)

Hello Folks! I am brand new to this board, although I have been doing a lot of trolling over it the lat couple of weeks. Lots of good info.



I have a 2012 RR 5.0 with an AJ 133 engine that overheated so badly that the motor needed replacement. I replaced the motor with a Jaguar AJ133, which was the same motor that was in the Rover . I swapped over the oil pan, pickup and exhaust manifolds. I used the original wiring harness from the range rover and am using the original range rover ECU and key.



I do not know why this is happening, but it will intermittently crank over and has a "cannot communicate with ecu" code.


I have tried using the other ECU from the Jaguar motor and that comes up with an "incorrect vin" code.


Do you think flashing the ECU would fix this?



Thank you in advance to anyone and everyone - suggestions or help greatly appreciated.

 
  #2  
Old 06-07-2019, 02:16 PM
jackra_1's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: MD
Posts: 3,728
Received 896 Likes on 690 Posts
Default

What about all the electrical components including sensors etc from the original RR engine?
 
  #3  
Old 06-07-2019, 02:19 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: NY
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

So I used the wiring harness off the the original blown motor of the range rover, throttle body control, crank position sensor.
All the rest of the sensors are from the Jaguar
 
  #4  
Old 06-07-2019, 02:50 PM
jackra_1's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: MD
Posts: 3,728
Received 896 Likes on 690 Posts
Default

I am just guessing here however I would try using the sensors from the RR engine in place of the Jaguar sensors.

I would think that the problem has to be electrical and the only components that are different in your setup, from the RR engine, are the Jaguar sensors you are using.
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
ajpds
XK8 / XKR ( X100 )
21
03-23-2017 08:32 AM
Kristian Morales
XJ40 ( XJ81 )
5
12-14-2016 07:52 PM
Gotts2bme
XK8 / XKR ( X100 )
33
05-27-2015 02:14 AM
romeo8426
S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 )
5
08-31-2012 09:37 PM
bhmaxjag
XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 )
7
03-16-2009 10:32 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: AJ133 Jag to RR Swap NEED HELP DESPERATE PLEASE :)


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: