S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 ) 1999 - 2008 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

4.0 Short Block Replacement

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2014, 03:25 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 4.0 Short Block Replacement

Good day all, I am new to the Jag family having just purchased a used beautiful champagne 2000 S Type. I have always wanted to own one and this one I could not pass up. Shortly after owning it I experienced the diva-ness that all jag owners warn you about. First, coolant refill/degas bottle sprung a crack and was leaking bad causing the car to overheat. Next, the passenger window regulator failed. Then it was the water pump that died on me while in a bank drive thru teller. As if that wasn't enough the passenger lower ball joint went bad. The power steering pump leak was a mess to locate and was intermittent. But, the latest was the seizing of the engine. That came out of no where and with no warning. The car just shut off while on the freeway. And best thing about all of this, all within a 2 year period.

So, now I have 2000 S Type paper weight in my front yard. I am sure my neighbors are enjoying it as much as I am. But, when the car runs well it is like a slice of heaven!! I love the thing. So, I am trying to get this thing back on the road as soon as possible and as cheap as possible. I called around the local machine shops (what few are still around my area) and all passed on rebuilding the motor citing parts are either non-existent to rebuild it or too expensive to pre-purchase them and required a hefty down payment. The next option would be to get a motor from a donor car. However, the prices for these very high mileage donor motors (140K + miles) don't make sense. My car was only 130K miles and it failed, why chance it with a higher mileage vehicle?