Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Changing coolant in 2001 4.0 V8

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2011, 06:35 PM
tot
Received 14 Likes on 12 Posts
Default Changing coolant in 2001 4.0 V8

I need to change the coolant on my 2001 4.0. According to JTIS there is a drain plug somewhere but looking under the engine (without lifting it up) I can't seem to locate anything that looks like that. Where is that drain plug hiding?

I will also change some bits of the cooling system whilst at at as preventive maintenance, like water pump, thermostat housing and some hoses. Since I have never worked on a cooling system before, is there any conventional wisdom that I should know to avoid leaks? Or is it as simple as just pull the bits off and put the new ones on, just making sure the surfaces are clean, and figure out how various clipses work?

And oh yeah, the water pump pulley, do you loosen and tighten the bolts when the belt is on?

Old 09-08-2011, 08:29 PM
Received 42 Likes on 33 Posts

The main thing I'd do whilst I was there is replace the header tank, this is the most likely thing to fail....

Old 09-09-2011, 02:04 AM
Veteran Member
Received 4,483 Likes on 3,901 Posts

I think the drain plug will be at one side (sorry, don't know which) of the bottom of the radiator, either set vertically or maybe horizontally. They often have a cross cut into the plug that takes a coin or the like. On my car there's a splash shield fastened beneath all that stuff, so that would have to come off first.

I expect you'd need to take the belt off. When fitting the new water pump do not overtighten the bolts. If you're unsure, get a torque wrench and look up the torque in JTIS
(Likely "hand tight" for a weakling. JTIS will give an actual figure.)

BTW, I hope the new pump comes with new bolts. I'd buy them if not, but that's me. They're likely "stretch" bolts.