X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Codes P0171 and P0174

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2020, 09:44 AM
Received 3 Likes on 1 Post
Default Codes P0171 and P0174

I haven't been able to find anything in the forum, so I'm hoping someone might have an answer for me. I have a 2004 X-TYPE 3.0L with 118,000 miles on it. I've been driving this car for about 2 years now, and the CEL comes on and off randomly, along with the ABS light. I recently had it put on a scanner and it shows error code P0171 and 0174, and an open fault on the front passenger wheel. The car runs fine, no missing or rough idle. Every so often, when I first drive it after a rain, it will start a bad stuttering if I accelerate to quickly. I just have to back off the gas a bit and ease it into what I think is third gear, after which, it does fine. Also, does anyone know if I can just replace the wheel speed sensor or do I need to replace the cable also? Sorry for the length, hope someone can help. Thanks.

Old 11-09-2020, 10:44 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,317 Likes on 1,004 Posts

The cable and sensor are two separate pieces.

Old 11-09-2020, 10:52 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,317 Likes on 1,004 Posts

The codes indicate you are running a lean condition on both banks.There are common vacuum leak points for the X-Type.
1. The PCV Hose running from the forward cam cover to the intake manifold.
2. The brake booster check valve and vacuum line.
3. The IMT O-rings at the end of the intake manifold.
4. The intake manifold gaskets.

The stuttering is the engine going into fail safe mode to prevent engine damage.

Old 11-09-2020, 02:11 PM

Originally Posted by avern1
The codes indicate you are running a lean condition on both banks.There are common vacuum leak points for the X-Type.
4. The intake manifold gaskets.

The stuttering is the engine going into fail safe mode to prevent engine damage.