XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

Immobiliser needing reset?

Old 11-14-2014, 03:12 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Immobiliser needing reset?

Morning all, yesterday I checked all the fuses and relays hoping to find some faulty items, but no faults found. Problem is the CHECK ENGINE LIGHT goes out with ignition lights. The car also doesn't go into keyfob programme mode no matter how many times I try. Its leading me to suspect a faulty module (either ECU or security), however Im not sure if you can replace these items without dealership coding, any info on this would of course be greatly appreciated. Also if the key is used in the door lock there is no sign of alarm activation (lights or horn). I read that you can wind drivers window down, lock car and reach through and open from inside to trip alarm but that doesn't work either, no response. Im new to Jaguars so need a little help here, thanks.

Old 11-14-2014, 07:59 AM

Quick update, stripped out central locking control module (behind filler cap) and ECU (drivers footwell) to check for water ingress but all seems really good. Cleaned all contacts and put back together, still no crank or central locking (using key or fob). Im now thinking that maybe the ignition barrel would be my next port of call as I have read that if the small key entry gate is open or faulty then the car wont start nor will the central locking or alarm work as the
ECU thinks the key is still in the car??? will post up findings tomorrow as the footballs on tonight ;-)

Old 11-14-2014, 09:35 AM
Veteran Member
Received 672 Likes on 495 Posts

Yes, the question of a ignition barrel being faulty/sticky has come up in a few threads recently .... have to wonder if winter cold temperatures cause this issue to show up more often this time of year as things start sticking.

Anyway, have heard suggestions of using some graphite lubricant and/or a clean with some electrical contact cleaner (plastic safe).

Old 11-21-2014, 06:30 AM
Default update