XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

X300 radio display not working.

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2010, 01:25 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default X300 radio display not working.

The radio display of my x300 1996 is dead. Has anyone got a working radio he wants to sell? Or are there other solutions? I'm afraid I'm not very good at electronics repair ...

Old 11-10-2010, 06:50 PM
Received 315 Likes on 224 Posts
Default Dead radio

This seems to be a very common problem with these cars and the general consensus seems to be that a replacement/ upgrade is the best route to go. Some have had the radios repaired, only for it to go out again at a later stage. Dry solder joints seem to be the problem and without the proper gear and know how, it's a bit of a needle in a haystack scenario. If you do get a newer replacement, you may need a faceplate adapter to compensate for the curved ski slope shape of the existing console. It will also need to be compatible with your cd changer. If it's the original in the boot/trunk jaguar model, you will need an Alpine radio unit unless I'm very mistaken. others on here will know more about this than I do, but hope this helps.

Old 11-10-2010, 06:59 PM
Received 67 Likes on 31 Posts

Originally Posted by sogood
If it's the original in the boot/trunk jaguar model, you will need an Alpine radio unit unless I'm very mistaken. others on here will know more about this than I do, but hope this helps.
Only a very limited selection of Alpine head units are compatible with the Jaguar changer, and when I looked they were all outdated, discontinued units. Best just to abandon the Jaguar CD changer.

Agreed, the Jaguar head unit seems to suffer fron quality control issues, and replacing it with a modern aftermarket unit is the best option.

I'm pretty happy with my Pioneer DEH-P7150UB.

Old 11-10-2010, 08:40 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts