XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

99 XJR Head Gasket Replacement!

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2009, 12:46 PM
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 99 XJR Head Gasket Replacement!

Hi Everyone!! Whilst touring southern Europe I am at present 'stranded' in Malta with a blown head gasket. There has not been any overheating however there is now pressure in the header tank, water loss and steam from the exhaust! I'm a mechanic by trade and have my tools with me. what I don't have is the resources to pay the local Jag agent for the work! Soooo any advice on DIY roadside Head Gasket replacement would be very welcome!!! i.e do I need special tools etc and what is torque setting for head bolts please?

Old 01-19-2009, 06:33 PM
Received 198 Likes on 140 Posts
Default RE: 99 XJR Head Gasket Replacement!

Hi Warrick, sorry to hear you are stranded. I'll kick this back to the top.

Old 01-20-2009, 06:13 AM
Received 17 Likes on 13 Posts

Alldatadiy.com lists the spanner sizes needed, and the torque values/bolt tightening sequence, but does not detail the step-by-step procedure or any special tools needed....hopefully BRUTAL or one of the other techs on the board will jump in here with details for you!
________

1999 XJR

Last edited by joycesjag; 11-25-2012 at 09:02 AM.
Old 01-20-2009, 06:33 AM

Many thanks for that guys! This morning I had a chat with my local jag guy in UK.. he says he has never had a problem with the V8 Jag head gaskets! he suggested the thermostat housing or water pump.. however would this account for steam from the exhaust and bubbles in the header tank... also a mild misfire? Is there a possibility of water ingress into intake manifold via supercharger etc...could this account for the pressure in the header tank also?
Cheers1

Old 01-20-2009, 05:57 PM
Received 198 Likes on 140 Posts