XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Third (High) brake light bulb replacement

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2016, 05:09 PM
Received 90 Likes on 64 Posts
Default Third (High) brake light bulb replacement

Need to replace one of my bulbs.
Vehicle Care manual: 5-18, bulb chart: High Mount Stop Light 12V 5W, type: Capless Long Life

I知 thinking of replacing all 5 as long as I have the assembly taken apart.

What about replacing with LEDs?

And where (in the USA) is a good place to buy bulbs/LEDs @ reasonable cost?

Thanks!

Old 03-14-2016, 05:34 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,769 Likes on 1,303 Posts
Talking

I got mine from my local Jag dealer, they were fairly cheap. As for converting to LED, I thought about it also (and I still am). But since I am not positive on this (I'm no LED expert) I believe their needs to be some sort of voltage regulator for the LED's? I know you have to add them for headlights.
I can highly recommend you get an inline connector when removing the 3rd light. The wire isn't long enough to work on it without cussing a whole lot. So I cut mine, soldered in the 2 pin connector and was happy I did so when putting it back in because one of the other bulbs died after I just put it in. So your aspect to replace them all is encouraged.

Old 03-14-2016, 07:12 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,351 Likes on 926 Posts

There was a post with pictures some while ago (but I am damned if I can find it), of someone replacing the 5 bulbs for LED.
Straight forward replacement, and no warning problems as the Third brake light is not part of the rear light control.
Just don't break the plastics in the process...

EDIT: Google did the job. No wonder, it was on the UK Forum:
http://www.jaguarforum.com/showthread.php?t=89256

The following users liked this post:
Iconoclast (03-15-2016)
Old 03-14-2016, 08:19 PM
Received 152 Likes on 113 Posts

I used 5 of these: