Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

4.2L engine rebuild question

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2023, 05:45 PM
Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Default 4.2L engine rebuild question

Hello all,

After trying unsuccessfully to get the stuck engine in my '86 XJ6 un-stuck, I ended up pulling it and the transmission. I still haven't successfully gotten it unstuck - even with the head off, the oil pan removed, I can't see any reason it won't turn. Perhaps I'll find a seized bearing when I start to remove pistons/crank, but the oil was clean and I just don't see any evidence of it.

But regardless of this I may as well fully overhaul it. Is there a good guide for overhauling this engine that anyone can recommend? Or best source of rebuild kits (in the US)? Not sure yet if new pistons will be necessary. This is my first time working on an XK.

Thank you!

Old 09-26-2023, 05:59 PM
Received 103 Likes on 75 Posts

loosen the con rods and crank bearing caps, use a spray lube or fine machine oil (baby oil) around the edges of the pistons to get lube down the bore & rings, then try turn it

Old 09-26-2023, 06:12 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,434 Likes on 1,832 Posts

can't you get a replacement engine where you are ?

Old 09-26-2023, 08:26 PM

Originally Posted by xjtom
loosen the con rods and crank bearing caps, use a spray lube or fine machine oil (baby oil) around the edges of the pistons to get lube down the bore & rings, then try turn it
Thanks, will give it a try.

Originally Posted by Jose
can't you get a replacement engine where you are ?
There is a used junkyard engine available nearby. But it seems likely I’d need to rebuild that one too. I figure I’ve got the old engine out and there doesn’t seem to be any catastrophic damage, so I may as well do at least a cheap rebuild.

Old 09-26-2023, 08:59 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,434 Likes on 1,832 Posts

hate to say it but a rebuild is never cheap. Machine work and parts will cost thousands.

The following users liked this post: