XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992

gas tank tranfer switch

 
  #1  
Old 07-23-2014, 09:42 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Maine
Posts: 53
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default gas tank tranfer switch

Can a faulty gas tank tranfer switch ( the one located on the dash) prevent the car from starting. I drove the car to a park. hiked with the dogs and when i got back to start it it would turn over but not fire. Put the car in drive and turned on the ignition but could not hear or feel the gas pump running. I could hear the valve clicking when I pushed the switch and after fiddling with the switch for 30 minutes got the car started. I notice the valve clicking when I just jiggled the switch cap. figured its faulty. Getting new switch but wonder if there's something else askew
thanks
Jeff
 
  #2  
Old 07-23-2014, 10:43 AM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest USA
Posts: 20,147
Received 6,547 Likes on 4,859 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by wardhill View Post
Can a faulty gas tank tranfer switch ( the one located on the dash) prevent the car from starting.

Doesn't seem likely, off hand. It simply applies (or removes) 12 volts to the changeover valve and the two return valves.


I drove the car to a park. hiked with the dogs and when i got back to start it it would turn over but not fire. Put the car in drive and turned on the ignition but could not hear or feel the gas pump running.

To clarify, you have to turn the key to 'start' to hear the fuel pump run. Simply turning the key to 'on' won't activate the pump circuit



I could hear the valve clicking when I pushed the switch and after fiddling with the switch for 30 minutes got the car started. I notice the valve clicking when I just jiggled the switch cap. figured its faulty. Getting new switch but wonder if there's something else askew
thanks
Jeff

Since you hear the clicking I'd say the switch is doing it's job. The changeover valve might be clogged, though, which would prevent any gas from reaching the fuel pump. Just a thought.

I'd check for fuel pressure at the fuel rail (or at least presence of fuel at the fuel rail) and work from there.

Cheers
DD
 
  #3  
Old 07-23-2014, 11:03 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 150
Received 27 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

Not sure if this helps, but when I got my S1 I was getting no power to the pumps, regardless which one I had selected. I pulled the switch off the dash and took it apart. It was completely gunked up with old electric grease and dirt, to the point it wouldn't do its job and complete the circuit. A soft brush and some time and it was like new! Power to the tanks. Maybe pop that switch apart if you can and see what the inside is like, or order a new switch as you mentioned, and if you have no other issues, I would bet the switch was bad/dirty. Dirty may explain why it worked after jiggling it a little bit. Good Luck!
 
  #4  
Old 07-23-2014, 04:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Maine
Posts: 53
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Thanks , New switch coming, but I wonder about the changeover valve. Can these be cleaned out?
 
  #5  
Old 07-24-2014, 11:55 AM
Darrenmb's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Orlando Florida
Posts: 1,714
Received 278 Likes on 182 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by wardhill View Post
Thanks , New switch coming, but I wonder about the changeover valve. Can these be cleaned out?
Don't know about cleaned out. But mine was stuck. I was able to get it working with some carb cleaner and a 9 volt battery. Just kept tapping it with cleaner in and then applied power about 6 OR 7 times and it works fine now. Gas in my tanks was almost a year old though. So clean gas may have helped too.
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
GordoCatCar
XK8 / XKR ( X100 )
4
01-02-2017 01:10 PM
Papelione
XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 )
16
09-21-2015 06:13 PM
pab
S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 )
2
09-16-2015 10:34 AM
tsimms7
X-Type ( X400 )
1
09-15-2015 12:43 PM
alpecsa
XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III
17
09-07-2015 11:55 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: gas tank tranfer switch


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: