XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Speaking of headlights

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2018, 01:04 PM
Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Default Speaking of headlights

My right front headlight is out. Yet when I turn on the highbeams, it comes on. I'm looking at the wiring diagrams and see no explanation for that, however I'm no electrical expert. Any ideas?

Old 01-26-2018, 01:59 PM
Veteran Member
Received 10,757 Likes on 7,101 Posts

I assume you are talking about the outboard headlight.

The outboard bulb as two filaments, 'high' and 'low'. Sounds like the 'low' element is burned out but the 'high' element is still OK....thus the headlight operates when high beam is selected.

Changing the bulb should fix you up

More reading on headlight problems

Headlamp Circuit Checklist

Cheers
DD

Old 01-26-2018, 03:14 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,429 Likes on 1,828 Posts

what size lamps does the car have? If you have the small 5.25" lamp on either the fender or the hood, then you will need to replace the entire sealed headlamp. And they should be replaced in pairs, those are not expensive, replace with Halogen sealed headlights made by Phillips.

If you have the European 7" headlamps at the fenders, then you replace the bulb, and that will cost you an arm and a leg.

Old 01-26-2018, 04:36 PM

What's confusing me is the wiring diagram that I'm sure you are all familiar with. Wiring to the both high and low beams show only 2 connections each, power and ground while the low beam (outer) bulb has 3 spades and connections. Also, the diagram shows 6 headlights - 2 sets of high beams and 1 set of low beams. Does that extra set represent the high beam part of the outer bulbs? Or are they foglights?
Most of my experience is coming from my Fiat which people say are wired with spaghetti so I'm familiar with Lucas and bad grounds and otherwise odd behaviour. But I love how this car is built.

Last edited by Nanonevol; 01-26-2018 at 06:09 PM.