XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992

Speedometer cable

 
  #1  
Old 05-31-2016, 06:26 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Durban
Posts: 646
Received 52 Likes on 40 Posts
Default Speedometer cable

Hi all

As I was driving home today, I noticed my speedo quit... I'm suspecting the cable... How do I go about getting to the speedo unit? I've consulted the Haynes manual, very limited... What items need to be removed to gain access, and how do I go about removing them?

Many thanks.
 
  #2  
Old 05-31-2016, 07:25 AM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest USA
Posts: 20,149
Received 6,550 Likes on 4,861 Posts
Default

To remove the speedo and tach you push them in firmly and turn about 1/4 turn. This will disengage them from the dash. Hopefully someone will remember which direction to turn...because I can't. Or, of course, you could just try both directions

Hopefully there's enough slack in the cable to allow you to pull the speedo out and easily disconnect the cable from the back of the speedo

Are you sure you don't have the electric speedo? I think 1982 was the changeover year

Cheers
DD
 
  #3  
Old 05-31-2016, 07:36 AM
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Delaneys Creek, Australia
Posts: 23,881
Received 4,564 Likes on 3,472 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Doug View Post
To remove the speedo and tach you push them in firmly and turn about 1/4 turn. This will disengage them from the dash. Hopefully someone will remember which direction to turn...because I can't. Or, of course, you could just try both directions

Cheers
DD
Anti clockwise in my S1, I would assume it is the same. But first time I didn't push in hard enough and removed the glass from the speedo, that was fun to get back on with the speedo still stuck in the dash.
 
  #4  
Old 05-31-2016, 08:26 AM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Walnut Creek, California
Posts: 5,732
Received 1,945 Likes on 1,569 Posts
Default

Nathan:


Get down and under. I think your V12 uses a GM TH 400 auto box.
The speedo drive should be toward the right rear.


There, you should see a box and wires for an electric speedo or the housing for the mechanical old tech style.


Sudden failing suggest and electric unit. Very likely a wire or connector issue.


Caveat: a lot of conjecture here.


Carl
 
  #5  
Old 05-31-2016, 10:20 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Durban
Posts: 646
Received 52 Likes on 40 Posts
Default

Many thanks all, being a 1982 car that's had a new speedo put in by the PO this will be interesting... Symptoms have me in 2 minds... Firstly, the needle shot up to 140, returned to 120 and pegged, didn't flicker after that... Secondly, the milage and trip meter both stopped turning too, thirdly, the needle always used to jump a tiny bit everytime the ignition was turned on, which it still does... So I'll check under the tranny soon and post what I find.
 
  #6  
Old 05-31-2016, 10:59 AM
Darrenmb's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Orlando Florida
Posts: 1,715
Received 278 Likes on 182 Posts
Default

When i took my speedo out i used a partially used roll of masking tape, it fit inside the glass area of speedo, gives you something to hold and is sticky enough to grip it.
 
The following 2 users liked this post by Darrenmb:
Jag7651 (06-01-2016), NathanDD6 (05-31-2016)
  #7  
Old 05-31-2016, 11:03 AM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest USA
Posts: 20,149
Received 6,550 Likes on 4,861 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by NathanDD6 View Post
the needle always used to jump a tiny bit everytime the ignition was turned on, which it still does... So I'll check under the tranny soon and post what I find.

That suggests the electric speedo

Transducer failures are fairly common. It's located on the LH side of the trans, sorta towards the rear. Wires burnt on the exhaust pipe are a possibility as well

Cheers
DD
 
The following 2 users liked this post by Doug:
Jag7651 (06-01-2016), NathanDD6 (05-31-2016)
  #8  
Old 05-31-2016, 01:26 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Durban
Posts: 646
Received 52 Likes on 40 Posts
Default

Thanks for the replies, so is this whole unit electrically driven? Even the milage and trip meter? The failure of all 3 has me baffled...
 
  #9  
Old 05-31-2016, 02:47 PM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest USA
Posts: 20,149
Received 6,550 Likes on 4,861 Posts
Default

Speedometer, odometer, and trip computer (when fitted) all driven from the same transducer. Cruise control as well, for that matter !

Cheers
DD
 
The following 2 users liked this post by Doug:
Jag7651 (06-01-2016), NathanDD6 (06-01-2016)
  #10  
Old 06-01-2016, 06:29 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Durban
Posts: 646
Received 52 Likes on 40 Posts
Default

Aha, perfect, now I'm sure I'm staring at the problem... A nut, little shaft, and then a big round thingy (bigger than the nut) with wires (looks like 2) coming out? Can I remove it without draining my tranny oil at the same time?
 

Last edited by NathanDD6; 06-01-2016 at 06:30 AM. Reason: Caps letter
  #11  
Old 06-01-2016, 07:22 AM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest USA
Posts: 20,149
Received 6,550 Likes on 4,861 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by NathanDD6 View Post
Aha, perfect, now I'm sure I'm staring at the problem... A nut, little shaft, and then a big round thingy (bigger than the nut) with wires (looks like 2) coming out? Can I remove it without draining my tranny oil at the same time?
That's it

No need to drain tranny

You get a dribble out of the hole, perhaps. That's all


cheers
DD
 
The following users liked this post:
NathanDD6 (06-01-2016)
  #12  
Old 06-01-2016, 07:49 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Durban
Posts: 646
Received 52 Likes on 40 Posts
Default

Perfect, thanks a mil Doug!
 
  #13  
Old 06-01-2016, 08:25 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Durban
Posts: 646
Received 52 Likes on 40 Posts
Default

Just a quick one, any idea how to go about testing this thing?
 
  #14  
Old 06-01-2016, 08:38 AM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Walnut Creek, California
Posts: 5,732
Received 1,945 Likes on 1,569 Posts
Default

Nathan:


Never tried or even seen one. As I understand, "sorta", it is a pulse generator.


That suggests an on bench method to spin it. A corded or cordless drill motor??? Possibly, doable! Then an oscilloscope? Maybe???


Lower level testing'


1. It is intact.
2. It is clean.
3. I turns freely.
4. The connections are clean and intact.
5. As Doug relates, the sires are intact.


Or, a known good transducer.


Carl
 
  #15  
Old 06-01-2016, 09:09 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Durban
Posts: 646
Received 52 Likes on 40 Posts
Default

Thanks Carl, as I understand it produces AC current, I've used an oscilloscope before, but sadly don't own one, I've got a multimeter though... Now, there are 2 wires here, yellow (+) and brown, if I connect these to the multimeter and spin it should I get a reading on the AC function?
 
  #16  
Old 06-01-2016, 09:24 AM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Walnut Creek, California
Posts: 5,732
Received 1,945 Likes on 1,569 Posts
Default

Nathan:


As said before, I don't know. But, your idea sounds reasonable.
Can't hurt to try it!


Alternate: Google, "How to test a GM speedometer transducer?".
Or, an archive search on this forum.


Carl
 
  #17  
Old 06-01-2016, 09:52 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Durban
Posts: 646
Received 52 Likes on 40 Posts
Default

Well I tried, and as predicted it didn't hurt. Got a reading on the AC function, but it didn't quite add up, after a while I figured my multimeter was picking up AC from the electric drill, touched the tip of the spinning drill lightly on the shaft and up went the reading, wish I could explain that one... Spun it with a mechanical drill and got no reading at all.
 
  #18  
Old 06-01-2016, 02:39 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Durban
Posts: 646
Received 52 Likes on 40 Posts
Default

Any chance anyone knows if this is a Jaguar-specific part or if it is a GM / common part? Starting to count the pennies for the Jaguar one...
 
  #19  
Old 06-02-2016, 05:48 AM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Walnut Creek, California
Posts: 5,732
Received 1,945 Likes on 1,569 Posts
Default

Just a guess. GM pulses probably differ from Jaguar pulses.
Might fit a GM unit OK, but the speedo would be way off.


Mine is!!! GM 4l60E transmission and Jag speedo.


Open it? clean it? Study the circuitry? I don't think it generates current. So one wire should be a source and the other goes to the speedo?


Not sure what the AC from the drill did??? The RF around it's electric
motor? Reading on the VOM???


Carl


Carl
 
  #20  
Old 06-02-2016, 05:49 AM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Walnut Creek, California
Posts: 5,732
Received 1,945 Likes on 1,569 Posts
Default

Try the research I suggested.


Carl
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Speedometer cable


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: