XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Degree of difficulty. Advice needed. 92 V12 XJS

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2018, 03:42 PM
Received 17 Likes on 15 Posts
Default Degree of difficulty. Advice needed. 92 V12 XJS

I have three jobs I'd like to do on my 92 XJS V12 convertible and would appreciate advice from experienced XJS owner/mechanics as to just how difficult each job is for a reasonably competent but aging wrencher and how much time each one would likely take.

1) Replace all coolant hoses.

2) Replace plugs wires and Marelli distributor.

3) Replace fuel rail hoses and kit as in V12 Performance.

If you could use a 1 to 10 with 10 being an experienced Jaguar mechanic I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks in advance guys.

Old 02-08-2018, 04:42 PM
Veteran Member
Received 693 Likes on 562 Posts

None of this stuff is very complicated

1. Pretty easy, there are a few fiddly ones but recall the old hoses are trash, so you can simply cut the old hoses with a razor blade and peel them right off.
(2/10): You are just removing hoses and replacing them, but some can be annoying to access

2. Wires are super easy to replace, don't know about the marelli in particular. Do you mean you are replacing the entire distributor or a service like cap and rotor?
(1/10): You are just unplugging wires and plugging new ones back in

3. The fuel rail hoses are a fairly easy job, the biggest pain in the butt is getting old, very hard hoses off the injectors and rail. The kit from V12 performance is kind of a dumb price. You can get the ferrules, seals, and even new pintle caps and filter baskets for less than that buying the supplies from injector-rehab and hose from your local autoparts store.
(3/10): You are just undoing the fuel rail and removing all the old hoses and putting new ones on. Probably the hardest part will be unplugging the electrical connectors on the fuel injectors