XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

No upshift, only first and reverse. - Resolved

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2012, 10:39 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up No upshift, only first and reverse. - Resolved

Had my Jag for a testdrive today, and discovered that it only runs in first gear, and reverse.
The first thing i suspected was oil level, and yes - it was low. I filled up with new oil and it's now on maximum level (hot) when running (I cycled trough all selector positions).
Still no upshift when driving. I have no experience with this transmission (GM400?). Whats the next thing I should check?

I've been under the car and checked. Beside the speed selector cable there is a electrical wire on the left side (speedometer sender?) and on the right side near the dipstick guide tube is a thing where a (vacuum?) hose is connected. I can see this (vacuum?) hose follows the dipstick guide a bit, but can't find the other end of this hose. Where is it supposed to end up. What does it do?

This is the last thing i need to sort out before I can drive my cat home (beside finish welding on the Triumph spitfire so I can make room for my Jag).

Last edited by steveinfrance; 10-11-2012 at 02:26 AM.
Old 10-06-2012, 10:53 AM
Veteran Member
Received 9,089 Likes on 5,352 Posts

The vac hose goes to the A bank inlet manifold. I think the vac signal it gives to the gearbox affects the point at which the gearbox changes up, as in later changes on lower vacuum, as it thinks the throttles are wide open and the car therefore trying to accelerate fast.

There are two sets of wires on the LHS nearest the front are the kickdown switch wires, these are there on all GM400 gearboexes used in XJSs. Earlier models like yours and mine have two sets of wires on the gearbox LHS, speedo transducer and kickdown wires. The transducer wires come from towards the tail of the gearbox and come out or a round-shaped thing screwed horizontally into the box side.

Greg