XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Stock ride quality

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2014, 11:15 PM
Veteran Member
Received 693 Likes on 562 Posts
Default Stock ride quality

Hi,
I wanted some input on anyone who has restored the suspension or modified it to see what it compares to.

I've driven/ridden in many slightly used cars that compared or were worse than my nearly 30 year old XJS and it makes me wonder....if a 30 year old Jag suspension compares to a 5-10 year old GM,toyota, kia, etc then what was it like new?? How does it compare to a new car? I love the ability to absorb shock and not wallow that new cars have, but am aware it is because they are brand new. Obviously being 22 I've never ridden in any older car NEW. Well, a few restored muscle cars, but they have **** ride quality anyway.

As I have said a dozen times I am a student on a budget, but am wondering what it would be like and how worth it it would be to restore my suspension. I'm talking a proper all springs, shocks, bushings, ball joints ,etc etc.

It is quite a lot of money and I may pick a few things and do others later (votes for what first!) but it is just so hard to imagine anything different than how it feels now that i cant bring myself to do it.

Im sure a ride in a fully restored XJS or even XJ6/XJ12 since so many components are shared would convince me, but it is very hard to imagine on my own.

I've heard the "it isn't too soft and isn't to hard, just right" Jaguar description a lot before. But to anyone who does have a new suspension, how does it compare to a new car?
Sorry if I repeated myself several times, but I always think about it when I go over bumps and stuff (to myself:"this is quite good and it is 30 years old!")

Old 03-18-2014, 02:19 AM
Veteran Member
Received 2,576 Likes on 1,712 Posts

Originally Posted by sidescrollin