XK / XKR ( X150 ) 2006 - 2014

Help with P2096 code

 
  #1  
Old 06-06-2019, 11:11 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 141
Received 33 Likes on 20 Posts
Default Help with P2096 code

Good morning guys, I recently replaced my CATS with higher flowing 200 cell ones from Velocity AP. It triggered the CEL and about a week after I had an ECU tune to address the CEL. I suspected that the position of the downstream Oxygen sensor (2-3 inches from CAT) was the culprit. I had the muffler shop re-locate the sensor to rear portion of the CAT. Codes went away but returned with a P2096-Post Catalyst fuel trim system too lean, Bank 1. The only changes I've made was the replacement of the CATS. I am about to replace the 2 downstream O2 sensors but I don't think that is the issue. Any ideas? I really appreciate any help/ideas
 
  #2  
Old 06-06-2019, 11:37 AM
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Yorkshire, England
Posts: 23,263
Received 3,429 Likes on 3,037 Posts
Default

The code strongly suggest to me that changing the sensors won't help.
 
  #3  
Old 06-06-2019, 11:40 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 141
Received 33 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

Can you elaborate any further?
 
  #4  
Old 06-06-2019, 12:07 PM
gkubrak's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 157
Received 60 Likes on 30 Posts
Default

How many miles have you put on it since relocating the sensor? How many since new CATs? Did you unplug the battery both times?

There is restart procedure that I only recently discovered that says you have to let the car get up to temp during initial idle so it can re-learn idle values. Then you have to go through a few drive cycles for all the other stuff.

After I installed new CATS, I cleared my codes, took a 200 mile trip and they never came back.
 
  #5  
Old 06-06-2019, 01:25 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: San Diego
Posts: 391
Received 67 Likes on 51 Posts
Default

Fuel trims will not resett with clearing codes but only by battery disconnect. I would say either your rear sensors are bad, wiring or the location of the sensors is the issue . Definetly do battery disconect to restart the fuel trims
And just to be on the safe side if you did any work to your air filter or anything under the hood I would double check to make sure you don't have any vacuum leaks and everything is sealed tightly. Now I Just remembered I had one XKR here that had codes for too lean and it turned out to be rubber connector to the throttle body that was leaking vaccuum.
Also use obd2 adaptor to monitor your long term fuel trims on both banks at idle and at different loads, this will tell you if your actually running lean. When you were at my place your fuel trims were normal
 

Last edited by AlexJag; 06-06-2019 at 02:00 PM.
  #6  
Old 06-06-2019, 01:33 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: San Diego
Posts: 391
Received 67 Likes on 51 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by gkubrak View Post
How many miles have you put on it since relocating the sensor? How many since new CATs? Did you unplug the battery both times?

There is restart procedure that I only recently discovered that says you have to let the car get up to temp during initial idle so it can re-learn idle values. Then you have to go through a few drive cycles for all the other stuff.

After I installed new CATS, I cleared my codes, took a 200 mile trip and they never came back.
If your codes went away without a tune to address them your lucky, I suspect your new cats are higher cell count and they function as good as factory so might be more restrictive too and maybe not, but if you have a higher flow units or no cats at all you will get a code for cats below efficiency and that must be removed in the tune. I had to remove it a more than a few xkr's
 
  #7  
Old 06-07-2019, 01:15 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 141
Received 33 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

So I decided to take the car for a long drive, maybe the fuel trim needed to be reset or something of that sort. I drove about 200 miles, LA to San Diego and back. CEL is off and no trouble codes found per the Torque pro app. Hopefully I can lay this to rest now.
 
  #8  
Old 06-07-2019, 10:32 PM
tberg's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4,186
Received 1,448 Likes on 962 Posts
Default

How do you plan on future smog checking with your new cats? And what company was willing to ship non certified cats to California?
 
  #9  
Old 06-07-2019, 11:15 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 141
Received 33 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by tberg View Post
How do you plan on future smog checking with your new cats? And what company was willing to ship non certified cats to California?
I ordered the cats directly from Velocity AP. Based out of Canada. I have a smog guy... wink wink..
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
09XFwhippin
XF and XFR ( X250 )
4
12-11-2017 07:31 PM
MBary
XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 )
19
07-17-2013 02:30 PM
GhostriderXKR08
XK / XKR ( X150 )
12
04-05-2012 11:16 AM
chazaroo
XK / XKR ( X150 )
12
06-08-2011 02:37 PM
christer200
XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 )
1
05-14-2009 04:40 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 5 (0 members and 5 guests)
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Help with P2096 code


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: