XK / XKR ( X150 ) 2006 - 2014
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

My Experience with Passport Transport

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2011, 10:19 AM
Received 141 Likes on 82 Posts
Default My Experience with Passport Transport

So, first and foremost, I'm new to the 'car shipping' experience. Having recently decided to purchase a car half a country away and realizing that I didn't realistically have the time to go retrieve it myself, I needed to hire someone to do it. I'm simply sharing my experience here so that others can learn from my great (or terrible!) decision making. The cars in transit now, so the story is ongoing as of this writing.

Not having any personal experience in this arena, I was instantly thrown into the maelstrom of choice that appears to be the car shipping business and turned to you guys for opinions and experience to help. Based on recommendations from other board members (Here: https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/x...mpanies-60972/), I decided on Passport Transport as they owned their own trucks, offered a competitive quote, and provided GPS tracking for the trailers the cars were moved in. Seemed a great way to be able to keep track of where it is without having to call in -- hooray for internet convenience?

I hired them on Friday 9/23 and the car (which was then in Texas), was picked up a week later on Friday 9/30. This was within the allotted time frame they promised, though it was the last day of said time frame. The place I was buying it from said that they were about 6 hours late picking it up. 9am was the agreed upon time, it was about 3pm when the truck actually got there.