Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Some questions from a potential first time buyer

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2015, 11:22 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Some questions from a potential first time buyer

Hello all,

I've been looking around the market for my first "newish" car now that I graduated from school and will be getting a real job.

Anyway, some of the cars on the list were a Lexus ISF, Cadillac CTS-V, and of course, a Jaguar XK (or XKR if I can find one in New York).

Since I could not find that much online(trust me I did quite a bit of searching), I wanted to ask you guys how this car drives daily which I will be doing.

I just wanted a general idea of reliability of these cars, and how they handle the snow(living on Long Island I have to ask that one).

I'm not terrified of crazy repair costs. But I don't have much experience with cars from the UK and none of my car friends really do either.

This is my '97 Lexus SC400. I take care of it and I plan on keeping it as my project car. Can I rely on an XK/R as a daily?

I apologize for the long post everyone, but I gotta start somewhere.

Thanks,

infint3

Old 06-22-2015, 12:21 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,484 Likes on 907 Posts

Welcome to the forum infint3! I have been driving Jags for over 25 years, from XJS's through to XJR's and XKR's and every one has been a daily driver.

I have had my current '07 XKR for around 2.5 years and is probably the newest one I have owned. Apart from the usual service items, it has needed little money spent on it. The only thing I can recall changing was the little fan for the interior temperature sensor because it was a little noisy. The modern Jags are generally very reliable.

I have always found my Jags to be a handful in snow due to the width of the tyres but have never used Winter/snow tyres and understand they make a huge difference.

Old 06-22-2015, 12:51 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,270 Likes on 875 Posts