Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Parking brake does not engage at all

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2018, 12:55 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,348 Likes on 725 Posts
Default Parking brake does not engage at all

I have never done this before. In fact, I am not sure how it works. But, I understand that there is a cable, a shoe, and magically the parking brake secures the car in place. Except no, at least one of the components of the parking brake system is not working. It has been this way since before I obtained the Jag.

When I pull on the lever, the brake light doesn’t come on, although I do feel resistance from the lever, there is no ratchetting going on. I confirm by putting the car in Neutral and giving it a push. Just as I suspect, it didn’t engage.

So, what are the steps to troubleshooting? Do I have to adjust the cable tension, the drum brake system itself, or are there other troubleshooting steps? What tools do I require to fix this? Is it an easy DIY or does it require a more experienced mechanic?

Old 06-04-2018, 04:04 AM
GGG
Received 16,799 Likes on 12,168 Posts

Here's the relevant JTIS section describing the Parking Brake:

PARKING BRAKE.pdf

1. Cable Adjustment
PARKING BRAKE - Cable Adjustment.pdf

2. Shoe Adjustment
PARKING BRAKE - Shoe and Lining Adjustment.pdf

The warning light is triggered by a switch on the hand lever assembly.

Graham

The following users liked this post:
giandanielxk8 (06-04-2018)
Old 06-04-2018, 04:32 AM
Veteran Member
Received 653 Likes on 462 Posts

It may be that the previous owner disconnected the warning light simply because the parking brake / hand brake didn't work.

Parking brake does not engage at all-handbrake.jpg

You can check to see whether the wire and microswitch are still there are connected by looking here :

giandanielxk8 (06-04-2018)
Old 06-04-2018, 01:30 PM
Veteran Member

Alright, I will check those two things out.

Old 06-04-2018, 06:04 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,808 Likes on 1,115 Posts